Welcome To NCTP E-Library

Welcome to our E-Library. This E-Libray will provide you the ‘toolbox’ which is a resource provided to trainees, trainers and assessors to help you become competent in various areas of your work.

The ‘toolbox’ consists of three elements:

  • A Trainee Manual for you to read and study at home or in class
  • A Trainer Guide with Power Point slides to help your Trainer explain the content of the training material and provide class activities to help with practice
  • An Assessment Manual which provides your Assessor with oral and written questions and other assessment tasks to establish whether or not you have achieved competency.

The first thing you may notice is that this training program and the information you find in the Trainee Manual seems different to the textbooks you have used previously. This is because the method of instruction and examination is different. The method used is called Competency based training (CBT) and Competency based assessment (CBA). CBT and CBA is the training and assessment system chosen by ASEAN (Association of South-East Asian Nations) to train people to work in the tourism and hospitality industry throughout all the ASEAN member states.

What is the CBT and CBA system and why has it been adopted by ASEAN?

CBT is a way of training that concentrates on what a worker can do or is required to do at work. The aim is of the training is to enable trainees to perform tasks and duties at a standard expected by employers. CBT seeks to develop the skills, knowledge and attitudes (or recognise the ones the trainee already possesses) to achieve the required competency standard. ASEAN has adopted the CBT/CBA training system as it is able to produce the type of worker that industry is looking for and this therefore increases trainees chances of obtaining employment.

CBA involves collecting evidence and making a judgement of the extent to which a worker can perform his/her duties at the required competency standard. Where a trainee can already demonstrate a degree of competency, either due to prior training or work experience, a process of ‘Recognition of Prior Learning’ (RPL) is available to trainees to recognise this. Please speak to your trainer about RPL if you think this applies to you.

What is a competency standard?

Competency standards are descriptions of the skills and knowledge required to perform a task or activity at the level of a required standard.

242 competency standards for the tourism and hospitality industries throughout the ASEAN region have been developed to cover all the knowledge, skills and attitudes required to work in the following occupational areas:

  • Housekeeping
  • Food Production
  • Food and Beverage Service
  • Front Office
  • Travel Agencies
  • Tour Operations.

All of these competency standards are available for you to look at. In fact you will find a summary of each one at the beginning of each Trainee Manual under the heading ‘Unit Descriptor’. The unit descriptor describes the content of the unit you will be studying in the Trainee Manual and provides a table of contents which are divided up into ‘Elements’ and ‘Performance Criteria”. An element is a description of one aspect of what has to be achieved in the workplace. The ‘Performance Criteria’ below each element details the level of performance that needs to be demonstrated to be declared competent.

There are other components of the competency standard:

  • Unit Title: statement about what is to be done in the workplace
  • Unit Number: unique number identifying the particular competency
  • Nominal hours: number of classroom or practical hours usually needed to complete the competency. We call them ‘nominal’ hours because they can vary e.g. sometimes it will take an individual less time to complete a unit of competency because he/she has prior knowledge or work experience in that area.

The final heading you will see before you start reading the Trainee Manual is the ‘Assessment Matrix’. Competency based assessment requires trainees to be assessed in at least 2 – 3 different ways, one of which must be practical. This section outlines three ways assessment can be carried out and includes work projects, written questions and oral questions. The matrix is designed to show you which performance criteria will be assessed and how they will be assessed. Your trainer and/or assessor may also use other assessment methods including ‘Observation Checklist’ and ‘Third Party Statement’. An observation checklist is a way of recording how you perform at work and a third party statement is a statement by a supervisor or employer about the degree of competence they believe you have achieved. This can be based on observing your workplace performance, inspecting your work or gaining feedback from fellow workers.

Your trainer and/or assessor may use other methods to assess you such as:

  • Journals
  • Oral presentations
  • Role plays
  • Log books
  • Group projects
  • Practical demonstrations.

Remember your trainer is there to help you succeed and become competent. Please feel free to ask him or her for more explanation of what you have just read and of what is expected from you and best wishes for your future studies and future career in tourism and hospitality.



Here below the resource that you can download……